Visiting Scholar Lecture Series

Visiting scholar presentation

The Visiting Scholar Lecture Series was established in 1955 for a two-fold purpose: to enrich the intellectual life of the University and to provide free public lectures for the Rockhurst and Kansas City communities.

Guest scholars of national and international repute discuss timely and timeless subjects. Speakers have included Henry Kissinger, R. Buckminister Fuller, Edward Albee, John Kenneth Galbraith, Arthur Schlesinger, David Broder, Robert Frost, Joseph Cardinal Bernardin, James Q. Wilson, the Rev. Raymond Brown, Clarence Page, Joseph Persico, Garry Wills, Bill Kurtis, Chris Hedges, Corey Flintoff, Sen. George Mitchell, and Lt. Commander Charles Swift.

The Visiting Lecture Series committee also selects commencement speakers and nominated honorary degree recipients. Craig Prentiss, Ph.D., serves as committee director.

For more information, contact The Center for Arts and Letters at (816) 501-4607 or