Shatonda Jones

Shatonda Jones
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
College of Health and Human Services
Van Ackeren 407


Ph.D. Therapeutic Science, University of Kansas (Medical Center)
M.A. Speech Pathology, University of Iowa
B.S. Speech Pathology, University of Tulsa

Professional Licensures and Certifications 

Certified Brain Injury Specialist Trainer, Academy of Certified Brain Injury Specialists - 2017
Speech Language Pathologist State of Missouri, Missouri Board of Healing Arts - 2006
Certificate of Clinical Competence Speech Language Pathology, American Speech Language Hearing Association - 2005


Shatonda S. Jones, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, CBIST, is an assistant professor in the department of communication sciences and disorders. Her research centers on health capacity building in communities of color, specifically with regard to stroke and other neurological impairments. Jones also conducts research in the areas of diffusion and dissemination of health information, edutainment, and cultural and linguistic diversity issues as they relate to health and communication sciences and disorders (CSD). 

Jones instructs in the graduate, post-baccalaureate and undergraduate CSD programs. Her courses include Motor Speech Disorders, Dysphagia, Cognitive Communication, Anatomy and Physiology, Cultural and Linguistic Diversity in CSD, as well as Clinical Management of Adults.

She has more than a decade of clinical experience and works primarily with adults and geriatrics with neurogenic communication and swallowing disorders. She has a particular interest in working with stroke survivors and their families. Jones holds the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) Certificate of Clinical Competence, is licensed in the state of Missouri, and is a Certified Brain Injury Specialist Trainer (CBIST). 

Jones remains active in the profession. She has served as vice president for clinical services with the Missouri Speech Language Hearing Association (MSHA), on the ASHA Continuing Education Board and as a member of the board of directors for the American Stroke Foundation.