Rockhurst University Names Key Member of Leadership TeamMarch 13, 2014

Rockhurst University has named Douglas N. Dunham, Ph.D., vice president for academic affairs effective July 1, 2014.


Dunham currently serves as provost at Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville. He has held that position, first in an interim capacity, since July 2009. Before becoming the university’s chief academic officer, he held several administrative and faculty positions, including associate provost, interim director of the Office of Assessment, Information and Analysis, and chairman of the department of psychology, sociology and counseling.


Dunham holds a Ph.D. in experimental psychology with an emphasis in psychophysiology from Washington University in St. Louis. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in psychology from Ball State University in Muncie, Ind. In addition, he received advanced training in his field at the Washington University School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry where he completed a post-doctoral fellowship through a grant from the National Institutes of Alcoholism and Abuse.


“Dr. Dunham’s academic credentials, along with his strategic leadership capabilities and assessment experience, will benefit Rockhurst University immensely,” said Rockhurst University President the Rev. Thomas B. Curran. “As an institution known for educating leaders, it was important for us to fill this role with a seasoned leader.”


The VPAA is a member of the university’s senior leadership team and has oversight of all aspects of the academic experience at Rockhurst. The deans of the four major academic units report to the VPAA, along with the registrar and the directors of the library, the Center for Service Learning and the Honors Program. In addition, the VPAA serves as co-chairperson of the University Planning and Budget Committee.


Dunham replaces Jeffrey Breese, Ph.D., who has served as interim VPAA since March 2012. He returns to his role as dean of the School of Graduate and Professional Studies.


Dunham was selected after a nationwide search led by an internal search committee. Cheryl McConnell, dean of the Helzberg School of Management, chaired the committee, which narrowed the field to four candidates.

Filed Under: Academics, Community Facebook Twitter