Department of Math & Physics Alumni

2011

Jeremy Pope (Math and Physics major)
Joined Sports Engineering Program at Sheffield Hallam University in Sheffield, England
PopeJ@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Maureen Whalen (Math major)
WhalenME@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Graham Mumm (Math major)
MummG@hawks.rockhurst.edu

James Riddell (Math and Chemistry major)
RiddellJ@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Hilary Huff (Math and Biology major)
HuffH@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Luke Pretz (Math and Economics major)
Joined PhD. in Economics program at University of Massachusetts Amherst
PretzL@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Alex Thorne (Math and Physics major)
Network Administrator, Rockhurst University
Also joined master's program in Computer Science at UMKC
ThorneC@hawks.rockhurst.edu

James Rogers (Math and Economics major)
RogersJ@hawks.rockhurst.edu

2010

Grant Andersen (English, Math minor)
anderseng@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Katelyn Carr (Math major, spanish minor, biology minor)
Pharmacy School at University of Kansas

Lauren Giesler (Math, Theater minor)
Associate Analytical Programmer, PRA International
GieslerLauren@praintl.com

Justin Jamour (Math and Physics)
jamourj@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Matt Littleton (Math and Physics, Philosophy and Theology minors)
UMKC Mechanical Engineering Program
LittletonM@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Alaina Manning (Math & Economics)
Graduate Student, Math
Saint Louis University
manninga@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Jeanette Powers (Math, Physics, and Philosophy)
Graduate Student, Physics, University of Kansas
strange.gen.et@gmail.com

Dan Shaver (Math, Secondary Education, Philosophy)
Math Teacher, Bishop Ward High School, Kansas City KS
shaverd@hawks.rockhurst.edu

2009

Kevin Cerveny (Math and Chemistry)
Union Bank, Kansas City, MO
kctd05@yahoo.com

Andrew Killen (Math and Physics) 
Teacher, Kansas City Missouri School District
Master of Education program, Rockhurst University
killena@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Meghan Morris (Math)
Graduate Student, Math
Saint Louis University
morrism@slu.edu

Amber Pelzl (Biology, Math minor)
Medical School, Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Chris Shaver (Math, Management, Theology)
Graduate Student, Math
St. Louis University 
christophereshaver@gmail.com

Kaleb Waite (Math, Physics, and Philosophy)
waitek@hawks.rockhurst.edu

2008

Jacob Ambrose (Math and Physics)
UMKC Civil Engineering Degree 
jacob.ambrose@ymail.com

Peter Huhnerkoch (Math and Accounting)
Herfordt, Shelton, Mertens & Couch Tax Accountant
phuhnerkoch@hsmc-cpa.com

Melissa Ruhlman (Math and Chemistry)
Medical School, St. Louis University
mruhlman@sbcglobal.net

Michael Seagrass (Math)
Graduate Student, Mathematics UMKC
mseagrass@yahoo.com

2007

Josephine Arzola (Math & Economics)
Graduate Student, Economics
University of Kansas
arzolajo@gmail.com

Carl Baker (Math and Physics)
Monk, St. Benedict's Abbey, Atchison, KS
carl.s.baker@gmail.com

Nicholas Brubaker (Math)
Carpenter, Rocky Mountain National Park, Estes Park, CO
nicholasbrubaker@gmail.com

Nick Centonze (Computer Science)
Software Engineer, Cerner, Kansas City, MO
pike85@gmail.com

John Donaldson (Math and Physics)
Midwest Research Institute
jdonaldson@mriresearch.org

Cathy Dowd (Math)
Actuarial Associate
Lewis & Ellis, Overland Park, Ks 
Cathydowd123@yahoo.com

Erin Herrmann (Math and English)
Master's degree program in English
Creighton University
herrmanne@gmail.com

Jennifer Lamoureux (Math and Physics)
jennyll2000@aol.com

Adam Trotter (Math)
One Way Caravan

Maureen Weber (Math and Chemistry)

2006

Jesse Bexten (Computer Science and Math)
Programmer, Shelter Insurance Companies, Columbia, MO
JBexten@ShelterInsurance.com

Lauren Cardwell (Math) 
Teacher, Hickman Mills School District
Master of Education program, Rockhurst University
cardwelll@rockhurst.edu

Brandon Distler (Math and Physics)
Graduate School, Nuclear Engineering, University of Missouri - Rolla
bpdmt9@umr.edu

Lynn Fullenkamp (Math)
Law School, University of Notre Dame
lcfully@juno.com

Ryan Powderly (Math and Accounting)
Graduate School, Business Administration, Rockhurst University
PowderlyR@rockhurst.edu

Brennan Ransdell (Math)
midmomusicman@hotmail.com

Heather Renier (Math)
Internal Wholesaler
Jackson National Life Insurance, Denver, Colorado
herb713@hotmail.com

Karla Schroff (Math and Theology)
siglinde26@yahoo.com

Scott Siegel (Math)
Gym Teacher/Soccer Coach
Christ the King School, Kansas City, MO
stasoccer05@yahoo.com

Laura Setchfield (Math and Psychology)
Graduate Assistant, Mathematics
St. Louis University
lsetchfi@slu.edu

Jonathon Vandergriff-Hughes (Computer Science and Math)
Programmer/Analyst Specialist
Advancement Services and Donor Relations
University of Missouri, Kansas City
vandergriffj@umkc.edu
www.jonvandergriff.com

2005

Caroline Donnelly (Computer Science and English)
Software Engineer, Cerner, Kansas City, MO
carolinevdonnelly@gmail.com

David Glenn (Math)
Teacher, Shawnee Mission South High School, Overland Park, KS
davidglenn@smsd.org

Bob Hegarty (Math and Physics)
Midwest Research Institute
rhegarty@mriresearch.org

Jarrod McMains (Math and Physics)
Graduate School, Mechanical Engineering, University of Arkansas
jmcmain@uark.edu

Natalie (Simon) Shivers (Math)
National City Bank, St. Louis, MO 
auroral12@hotmail.com

2004

Emily Bussen (Math and Economics)
Youth In Need
St. Louis, MO 
bussen11@hotmail.com

Steve Cisetti (Computer Science)
inferno27@kc.rr.com

Matthew Duran (Physics and Math)
Graduate Student, Physics, University of Tennessee Space Institute
mp2duran@yahoo.com

Rob Hensley (Computer Science)
US Bank, Minneapolis
cob027@yahoo.com

Jenny Simmons (Math and Finance)
Graduate Student, Finance, Rockhurst University
mabellynn@yahoo.com

Deborah Turner-Bey (Math and Physics)
Studying Philosophy at UMKC
turner_bey@yahoo.com

2003

Ryan Bridges (Math)
Perparing for law school 
bridges_c_ryan@hotmail.com

Mentor Bytyqi (Computer Science and Math)
Programming Analyst, Butler MFG, Kansas City
mentorb@hotmail.com

Jonathan Chambers (Math and Chemistry)
Graduate student, UMKC Masters of Anesthesia Program
jrcn87@umkc.edu

Jason Downing (Math, Computer Science, and Physics)
Midwest Research Institute
jdowning@mriresearch.org

Austin R. Flowers (Computer Science)
Teacher, St. John's College, Belize City, Belize C.A.
djumar1@hotmail.com

Jake Hervert (Physics and Math)
Graduate Student, Physics, Creighton University 
jherv17@hotmail.com

Jeff Nevinski (Math and Computer Science)
High School Teacher, Raytown, MO
jeff@nevinski.com

Leonard Paletta (Math and Economics)
Training to be an actuarial analyst 
lenpaletta@hotmail.com

Mario Perez (Computer Science)
Graduate assistant, Rockhurst Health Services
Student in Rockhurst MBA program
supermariopc@gmail.com

Sarah (Pomerenke) Hicks (Math)
Doctoral Candidate, Mathematics Education, University of Missouri
sjhicks24@yahoo.com

Margaret Richey (Math and Computer Science) 
Real Time Software Engineer, Boeing, Mesa, AZ.
richeym@cs.wisc.edu

Sara Terhune (English and Math)
Jesuit Volunteer Corps, Notre Dame Middle School, Milwaukee, WI
sara_marie55@yahoo.com

2002

Kara Brown (Math)
Teacher, Lee's Summit High School
kara_b_10@rocketmail.com

Jennifer (Buford) Malone (Math)
Financial advisor, Waddell & Reed
jmalone@wradvisors.com

Stuart Keldon Kilzer (Math and Computer Science)
Boeing, Denver, CO
Stuart.K.Kilzer@boeing.com

Kristen (Rushing) Chavez (Math)
Teacher, Mill Valley High School, Shawnee, KS
kristenreneechavez@yahoo.com

Mike Watts (Math and Chemistry)
Medical student, St. Louis University
mikewatts47@hotmail.com

2001

Brianne (Bamberger) Breed (Math, Physics, and Spanish)
Sales Manager of Commodity Cheeses
T.C. Jacoby & Co., St. Louis, MO
brianne@jacoby.com

Maria (Cordova) Broyles (Math and Psychology)
maria_broyles@yahoo.com

Anna Deken (Math and Physics)
Teaching high school mathematics, Casa Grande, Arizona
annakate_deken@myfamily.com

Adam Harrington (Physics and Math)
Physicist, Hitachi America Ltd., Tarrytown, New York (also Hitachi Ltd., Tokyo Japan)
Medical/Cancer Treatment Research and Development—Proton Beam Therapy
adam.harrington@hal.hitachi.com

Courtney (Kies) Bokenkroger (Math)
Staff Statistician
Midwest Research Institute
cbokenkroger@mriresearch.org

Colleen (Simpson) Lafferty (Math)
Pharmacy student at UMKC
colleen@boblafferty.com

Aaron McDonald (Math)
Graduate Student, Biomathematics, University of Utah 
aaronatrock@hotmail.com

Nick Mossie (Computer Science)
Linux Programmer/Analyst, Context Fusion
nick@initiated.com

Sara Wood (Math and Psychology)
Mortgage Industry, Kansas City
SWood@bankbv.com

2000

Megan Nugent Galicia (Math, Spanish, Philosophy)
Student Assessment
Texas Education Agency
Austin, TX
megan.galicia@tea.state.tx.us

1999

Laurie Kertz (Math)
Physical Therapist

Vincent Toms (Math and Computer Science)
Feelance iOS and Android developer
Mobile Application Development, New York, NY.
vt@vinnyt.org

Jennifer Watts (Math)
Medical student, St. Louis University
wattsjl@slu.edu

1998

Stacey (Mueller) Muir, Ph.D. (Math and Psychology)
Assistant Professor of Mathematics, University of Scranton
muellers2@scranton.edu

Thi Quang Nguyen (Math)
Programmer Analyst, Worldspan, Kansas City
Thi.Nguyen@worldspan.com

Michael Twyman (Math)
Physician
twymanma@slu.edu

1997

Katie (Sellberg) Kiefer (Computer Science)
Senior Programmer/Analyst, H&R Block Financial Advisors
katie_kiefer@hotmail.com

Kenny Oxler (Computer Science and Math)
IBM - Senior I/T Specialist
koxler@us.ibm.com

Brian Schenck (Math and Education)
Teacher, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School, Overland Park, KS
bschenck@stasaints.net

1995

Matt Braunel (Math and Chemistry)
Patent Attorney
mbraunel@thompsoncoburn.com

Marian Eiberger Dryburgh (Math and Economics)
Ernst & Young - Tax
medryburgh@hotmail.com

Tamatha (Clary) Leuschen (Math)
Pembroke Hill Upper School, Instructor of Mathematics
tleuschen@pembrokehill.org

1994

Jim Edgington (Math and Physics)
Manager, Statistical Programming, Quintiles, Inc.
jim.edgington@quintiles.com

Eric Rouchka (Computer Science, Math, and Biology)
Visiting Professor, Computer Engineering and Computer Science, University of Louisville
eric.rouchka@louisville.edu

1991

Karen Braman (Math and Computer Science)
Assistant Professor, Mathematics, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Karen.Braman@sdsmt.edu

1989

Ron Hardin (Computer Informations Systems)
Chief Information Officer
Arizona Dept. Of Environmental Quality
ron.hardin@dmteks.com

1987

CeCe Evans Wall (Math)
Graduate Student, Education, Rockhurst University
cew37@comcast.net

Jeffrey M. (Jeff) Villmer (Computer Information Systems)
Manager, Software Engineering, MasterCard International
jeff_villmer@mastercard.com

1984

Louis Rios (Computer Science)
Sr. Programmer/Analyst, American Century Investments
louis_rios@americancentury.com

1983

Gina Speese (Computer Science ’83 and Nonprofit Leadership certification ‘08)
Assistant Director of Annual Giving, Rockhurst University
gina.speese@rockhurst.edu

Ed Van Buskirk (Computer Science)
Computer Consultant, www.we-are-it.com
youritdept@we-are-it.com

1982

John Cigas (Math and Computer Science)
Associate Professor of Computer Science, Rockhurst University
john.cigas@rockhurst.edu

Steve Tesch (Computer Science)
Systems Integration Specialist - IBM
stesch@us.ibm.com

1981

Patricia Ann Zollmann Kissinger (Mathematics and Secondary Education)
pzkissinger@hotmail.com

1980

Frank Pendleton (Physics)
Senior Scientist for Midwest Research Institute
fpendleton@mriresearch.org

Mike Storms (Math and Computer Science)
Senior - IT Architect
stormsm@us.ibm.com

1979

Steve Mendenhall (Math and Computer Science)
Principle Member of the Technical Staff, AT&T Corp.
stevem@att.com

1978

Stephen Yurkovich, Ph.D. (Engineering Science, Math, Physics)
Louis Beecherl, Jr., Distinguished Chair in Engineering Program Head, Systems Engineering
800 West Campbell Rd.,
EC39
Richardson, TX 75080
Office: 972-883-2305

steve.yurkovich@utdallas.edu

ecs.utdallas.edu/systems-engineering/yurkovich.html

1976

Gregory E. Muleski (Math and Engineering)
Principal Engineer, Midwest Research Institute
gmuleski@mriresearch.org

1974

Richard Bahner (Math)
Math Department Chair
Sacred Heart High School, Sedalia, MO
richbane@yahoo.com

1971

Johnny B. Holmes, Ph.D. (Physics)
Professor of Physics and Dean of the School of Sciences
Christian Brothers University, Memphis 
jholmes@cbu.edu

1970

Richard (Dick) Kies (Math)
Retired AT&T Computer Systems Designer, Current Part-time teacher, St. Regis School, Kansas City, MO 
rjkies@swbell.net

1969

Bob Hegarty (Physics, Math, and Engineering Science)
Professor of Mathematics and Physics, Rockhurst University
bob.hegarty@rockhurst.edu

1966

John M. Soptick (Math)
Professor, Mathematics Dept.
Kansas City Kansas Community College
jsoptick@toto.net

Phillip F. Stambaugh (Math)
Senior Vice President
Nantucket Bank
pfs@nantucketbank.com

1964

Edward Kinerk, S.J. (Math)
President, Rockhurst University
edward.kinerk@rockhurst.edu

Tom McCullough (Math)
Chief Operating Officer - DST Systems, Inc.
tamccullough@dstsystems.com

Thomas J. Peneski (Mathematics)
Chair, Department of Mathematics
Univ. of Wisconsin Colleges
tpeneski@uwc.edu

1963

Gerald Gannon (Math & Education)
Professor of Mathematics
California State University, Fullerton
ggannon@fullerton.edu

Mike Smith (Math & Physics)
Private Consultant, Doctor Neutron
Mike.Smith@DoctorNeutron.com

1958

Charles M. Gosselin Sr. (Math & Physics)
Physics Instructor, Rockhurst University
gosselincsr@att.net

1952

Manuel Berriozábal (Mathematics)
Professor of Applied Mathematics 
The University of Texas at San Antonio
mberriozabal@utsa.edu

Charles Himmelberg (Mathematics)
Professor of Mathematics 
The University of Kansas
himmelberg@math.ukans.edu