Kappa Delta Pi

The Rockhurst University Psi Psi chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, the International Honor Society in Education, encourages scholars and educators to achieve and sustain preeminence in teaching, scholarship, and service.  In addressing the needs of members through the phases of their careers as scholars and educators, Kappa Delta Pi provides an energetic, diverse learning community that enhances professional growth through high quality programs, excellent academics, and service opportunities.  Kappa Delta Pi members make up the top 10 percent of those entering the field of education and include award-winning and outstanding practicing educators.  Many great resources and benefits such as access to teacher resources, networking opportunities, and applications for scholarships and classroom grants are just a few items KDP members will receive. Membership in the Psi Psi chapter is based on rigorous academic and service related standards.  Our members are dedicated to the following principles:

  • recognizing scholarship and excellence in education
  • promoting the development and dissemination of worthy educational ideas and practices
  • enhancing the growth and leadership of our diverse members
  • fostering inquiry and reflection on significant educational issues
  • maintaining a high degree of professional fellowship

Kappa Delta Pi Executive Board

President: Emily Mazzoni   mazzonie@hawks.rockhurst.edu

President-Elect: Margaret Bernard   bernardm@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Vice-President: Stephanie Amsler   amslers@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Secretary: Laura Williams   williamslr@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Treasurer: Marc Pope   popem@hawks.rockhurst.edu

Membership Chair: Emily Carnie   carniee@hawks.rockhurst.edu

 
Co Counselor Dr. Judith Carlson     judith.carlson@rockhurst.edu

Co Counselor Dr. Sarah Hicks        sarah.hicks@rockhurst.edu

Rockhurst University Kappa Delta Pi Membership Qualifications

  • Intent to continue in the field of education
  • Leadership attributes
  • Undergraduates: Acceptance to Department of Education, a minimum overall grade point average of 3.5, and at least 9 semester hours in education courses completed
  • Graduates: a minimum overall grade point average of 3.75 and at least 9 semester hours in education courses completed
  • Complete eight hours of service
  • Attend meetings

Upcoming Membership Events:
New membership applications for Fall, 2012 will be available in September, 2012.  Please check our website for the application in September, and/or email the KDP president.