Communication Sciences & Disorders Annnouncements

Post Bachelor's Leveling Program
The Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders is pleased to announce we are now accepting applications for the fall 2016 semester into the post bachelor’s leveling program in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD). This program is designed for individuals who hold a bachelor’s degree in another discipline and who wish to pursue a graduate degree in the field of CSD.

The leveling program allows admitted students to complete the necessary prerequisite coursework to begin graduate studies in speech-language pathology. Students applying to the leveling program are applying for provisional admittance to the graduate program in CSD.

Applicants to the leveling program must submit a completed graduate application by the Feb. 1, 2016, deadline and meet all admission criteria for consideration. Questions about the post bachelor’s leveling program may be directed to Cheryl Hooper, director of graduate admissions, at  

Quest for the Cup Intercollegiate Knowledge Bowl
CSD students compete in the annual knowledge bowl, the “Quest for the Cup”. This highly competitive intercollegiate knowledge bowl engages the eight CSD programs in the state of Missouri in competition to correctly answer questions similar in format to the national Praxis exam.

The 2015 Quest for the Cup Team
Vicky Czerwinski, Ben Harder, Jennifer Kern, Hannah Smith, Laura VanBiber, Kate Wiltrout

The Rockhurst University Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders proudly honors students with the “SWELLS” awards to Students Who Exhibit Learning Leadership and Service.  The CSD faculty nominate students on the basis of leadership in the program, academic performance, engagement in extracurricular activities, service to the department, university, and community. Our heart “SWELLS” with pride for the following students who the faculty think are pretty “SWELL”:

Learning: Eva Baltz
Leadership: Corine Reeser
Service: Shana Diamond

Linda Z. Solomon, Ph.D., Memorial Award - Taylor Sellers
Linda Solomon was a leading practitioner of speech-language pathology in the Kansas City area, having directed the Hearing and Speech Department at Menorah Medical Center from 1981 to 1989 and at Mid-America Rehabilitation Hospital from 1990 to 1999. She developed support groups for stroke survivors and people with aphasia and Parkinson’s disease. In 2000, she joined the faculty of Rockhurst University and in 2005 was awarded tenure as Associate Professor in Communication Sciences and Disorders. Throughout her career, Linda’s focus was to provide effective and compassionate care to patients and to train the next generation of practitioners to do the same.

The Linda Z. Solomon, Ph.D., Memorial Award will grant an award to support one student each year to attend the national convention of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. The Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders will select the student with input from the Solomon family based on a student’s potential to offer effective and compassionate care to patients in speech-language pathology. The award is intended to support a student who otherwise would not have the resources to attend the convention.

Gifts to the Fund can be made by either check or credit card. Please make checks payable to Rockhurst University, Office of University Advancement, 1100 Rockhurst Road, K.C., MO  64110. Please state that the gift is for the Linda Z. Solomon, Ph.D., Memorial Award. To make a contribution by credit card, please call us at 816-501-4888. You may also contribute online. Please specify your gift is for the Linda Z. Solomon Memorial Award.

Presidential Grant
Pam Hart, Ph.D., was awarded a Rockhurst University Presidential Grant for her research of effective literacy practices with individuals who use Augmentative and Alternative Communication.